colby-sawyer faculty

Susan A. Reeves, EdD, RN

Dean of the School of Health Professions
The Gladys A. Burrows Distinguished Professor of Nursing
(603) 526-3795 |

Joined faculty as its department chair and director in 2007. Nurse Administrator at Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center for 17 years. 1980 graduate of Mary Hitchcock Memorial Hospital of Nursing. 1988 Graduate of Colby-Sawyer College Nursing Program. M.S. from University of New Hampshire and a 2010 graduate of the doctor of education program at University of Vermont, with a concentration in Educational Leadership and Policy Studies.

Areas of Expertise

  • Ethics
  • Healthcare
  • Human Resource Management
  • Management
  • Nursing
  • Organizational Behavior

Recent Presentations / Publications

  • Gardent, P. & Reeves, S. A., (2009). Ethics Conflicts in Rural Communities: Allocation of Scarce Resources. In Nelson, W. (Ed.) Handbook for Rural Health Care Ethics. Hanover, N.H.: Trustees of Dartmouth College.

  • Reeves, S. A. It's Just Good Business: Making the Case for Health Literacy in Your Organization. "Managing Complexity with Clarity." Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center, Lebanon, N.H. April 5, 2010.

  • Beyea, S., Ceppetelli, E., Formella, N., & Reeves, S. A., (2006). Meeting the Needs for Nursing Faculty: A Service/Education Collaboration. Nurse Leader, 4(5), 34-37.

  • Reeves.S. A., (2004). Serving the Twin States for 10 Years: The Dartmouth-Hitchcock Advanced Response Team. Air Medical Journal, 23(6), 1-3.

  • Reeves, S.A., (2002). Aftermath. Air Medical Journal, 21(5), 28-29.

  • Reeves, S.A. & Ceppetelli, E. The Faculty Float Pool Concept. 33rd Annual Professional Nurse Educator Conference, Burlington, Vt., October 26, 2006.


  • Diploma in Nursing, Mary Hitchcock Memorial Hospital School of Nursing, 1980.

  • Bachelor of Science in Nursing, Colby-Sawyer College,1988.

  • Master of Science in Nursing Administration, University of New Hampshire, 1991.

  • Doctor of Education, Leadership and Policy Studies, University of Vermont, 2010.