distinguished alumni

The Distinguished Alumni Award is given annually at Commencement in recognition of an alumna or alumnus who has made a distinctive and unique contribution to his or her profession and to society.

2014 Award Recipient: Kurt Svoboda '00

Kurt Svoboda graduated magna cum laude with a degree in Exercise and Sport Sciences. He funded his own education while balancing work, baseball and academics, a feat that gained him a reputation as a hard worker.

In 2009, Kurt earned a master's degree in Management from Harvard University, where he was chief public and media relations executive. In 2013, he became the Senior Assistant Athletics Director of Media Relations and Communications at Stanford University.

In addition to supporting the Colby-Sawyer Fund and Colby-Sawyer Athletics, Svoboda advises students in professional preparation, provides internship opportunities and shares his expertise on panels, including the 2014 Exercise and Sport Science Symposium.

Kurt's is a proud voice for the college, and he enhances its reputation at every turn through his generosity, words and actions.

“Working in the sports world, which is dominated by graduates of large universities, I am often asked about my background,” he says. “I always enjoy the opportunity to shine a spotlight on Colby-Sawyer as a jewel in higher education.”

Kurt is a resident of Palo Alto, Calif.

Past Distinguished Alumni Award Recipients

2013 Pamela Stanley Bright '61
2012 Suzanne Turtle Millard '56
2011 Hilda Hutchins McCollum '58
2010 Joan “Pete” Peterson '49
2009 Hannah “Haydi” Caldwell Sowerwine '60
2008 JoAnn Franke Overfield '69
2007 Jean “Je-Je” Harding Pierce '47
2006 Leslie Wright Dow '57
2005 Mary Trafton Simonds '38
2004 Suzanne Simons Hammond '66
2003 Eleanor Morrison Goldthwait '51, '52
2002 Deborah Field McGrath '68
2001 Barbara Clough '31, '01
2000 Anne Winton Black '73, '75
1999 Sharon Fitzpatrick Merrill '68
1998 Diane Shugrue Gallagher '57
1997 Joyce Juskalian Kolligian '55
1996 Rebecca Young Robinson '64
1995 Veda Kaufman Levin '67
1994 Marilyn Moore Maslow '52
1993 Jan Brett '69