graduate award

The Graduate Award recognizes the member of the preceding class whose character and influence most constructively affected the members of this year's senior class. Previously the award was presented each year during Commencement, but since 2009 it has been presented at Homecoming.

2009 Award Recipient: Kristen Peterson '08

An early childhood education major, Kristen worked with young children in a variety of educational settings during her four years at Colby-Sawyer. She currently teaches at Sunapee Central Elementary School, where she has helped start a preschool program, and since 2008 has served on the committee designing Colby-Sawyer's new Windy Hill School.

Professor Janet Bliss, Director of the Windy Hill School, said of Kristen, "She is an especially lovely young woman; I don't know of a kinder individual. Kristen has always championed causes for people with unfortunate circumstances, especially if those individuals are children. As a student, she tirelessly advocated for children's rights, and was hugely beneficial in bringing attention to the need for a new building for the Windy Hill School. Not only were her peers impacted by her extraordinary qualities, but she was universally loved by the children in the lab school where she spread kindness, love and great joy.


Past Award Winners

2008 Tarren Bailey
2007 Shawn P. Fleisner
2006 Michael R. Mandolese
2005 Joseph F. Caforia
2004 Rebecca A. Sherlock
2003 Nicole L. Fowler
2002 Tracey A. Guarda
2001 Ryan P. Smith
2000 Suzanne Kendall Blake
1999 Kelly M. Ervin
1998 Karin E. Dugan
1997 Eric D. Garaulay
1996 Felicia M. DeRosa
1995 Daniel J. Berry
1994 Kathleen L. Ventura
1992 Kimberly S. Steward
1991 Janette Robinson
1990 Maria Kassis
1988 Jennifer E. Davis