campus news and events

Colby-Sawyer College to Celebrate 177th Commencement

Colby-Sawyer College will celebrate its 177th Commencement on Saturday, May 9, graduating approximately 265 students and recognizing them and other individuals for academic excellence, outstanding contributions to society, and service to the college and community.

The ceremony will begin at 10:30 a.m. on the college's front lawn. The Class of 2015 hails from 15 states and 11 countries. Twenty-three students participated in the study away program, and 99 percent completed internships. Class members are moving on to positions with companies including Fidelity Investments, Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center and Deloitte & Touche, and attending graduate school to pursue advanced degrees in art, journalism, law, molecular and cellular biology, and more.

Student Awards

Krista Peace, a history and political studies major from Santa Barbara, Calif., has been selected as the Senior Commencement Speaker and will deliver an address titled “Striving for Excellence.”

The Colby-Sawyer Award, given to the senior who exemplifies the college's ideals of personal dignity, intellectual growth and contributions to campus life, will be presented to Jesse Socci, a sport management major from Wilton, Conn.

The David H. Winton Baccalaureate Award, which recognizes the graduating student with the highest cumulative grade point average, will be announced at Commencement.

Community Awards

Colby-Sawyer will recognize these members of the college and greater community for outstanding contributions to the life of Colby-Sawyer and its students.

Sonja Carlson Davidow '56 and William H. “Bill” Davidow, residents of Woodside, Calif., will receive the college's highest award, the Susan Colgate Cleveland Medal for Distinguished Service.

Assistant Professor of Humanities Michael Jauchen, Ph.D., will receive the Jack Jensen Award for Excellence in Teaching, the college's highest faculty award, and deliver the Commencement Address. Professor Jauchen is a resident of Newbury.

The Nancy Beyer Opler '56 Award for Excellence in Advising will be given to Professor of Exercise and Sport Sciences Jean Eckrich, Ph.D. Professor Eckrich is also the director of the Teaching Enrichment Center and holds the David H. Winton Endowed Teaching Chair. She is a resident of Hopkinton.

The Town Award will be presented to Anne Baynes Hall '67 of New London.

The Gown Award will be presented to Associate Professor of Business Administration William F. “Bill” Spear, D.B.A., of New London.

The Judith Pond Condict '62 Award for Excellence in Service will be presented to New London resident Anne Poirer, director of Group Exercise at Colby-Sawyer's Hogan Sports Center.

The Distinguished Alumni Award will be presented to Debra “Debbie” Bray Mitchell '79 of Heber City, UT.

To learn more about the award winners, visit

About Colby-Sawyer College

Colby-Sawyer College is a comprehensive college that integrates the liberal arts and sciences with professional preparation. The College's faculty, staff and students strive for excellence in an engaged teaching and learning community that fosters students' academic, intellectual, and personal growth. With a strong emphasis on learning outcomes, including breadth and depth of knowledge, self-growth, creative and critical thinking, and effective communication, Colby-Sawyer prepares students to thrive post-graduation and make a positive impact upon a dynamic, diverse, and interdependent world.

Founded in 1837, Colby-Sawyer is located in the scenic Lake Sunapee Region of central New Hampshire. Learn more about the College's vibrant teaching and learning community at