Dean Hilary Williams Joins Leadership New Hampshire

Dean of the School of Arts & Sciences Hilary Williams was recently named as a member of the Class of 2024 of Leadership New Hampshire (LNH), a select cohort of informed, engaged leaders who will connect with each other over 10 months as they learn about complex issues facing the state and serve their communities through their own diverse roles.

Williams is one of 37 individuals representing private, nonprofit and public sectors who were chosen through a highly competitive selection process to join this year’s class. They began their work at an overnight retreat in Greenfield, New Hampshire, in September and join 1,000 alumni from the program’s 32-year history in their commitment to increasing civic engagement and strengthening communities throughout New Hampshire.

Williams, who joined the Colby-Sawyer faculty in 2012, is an associate professor of graphic design and has served as dean of the School of Arts & Sciences since its inception in 2019. Before that, she served as chair of the Department of Fine & Performing Arts. She was the 2016 recipient of the Jack Jensen Award for Excellence in Teaching, the college’s highest teaching award.

In addition to her work at Colby-Sawyer, Williams serves as chair of the NH Women in Higher Education Board of Directors, Executive Committee member of the Appalachian Mountain Club New Hampshire Chapter and institutional representative for the New England Transfer Guarantee with the New England Board of Higher Education. She also serves on visiting accreditation evaluation teams for the New England Commission of Higher Education.

A champion of local and regional foods, Williams has also served on the Campus Network Steering Committee of Farm to Institution New England (FINE), on the Hopkinton Farmers Market Board of Directors, as education director for the Iowa Chapter of AIGA (the professional association for design) and as an organizer for, an international movement of people working to end the use of fossil fuels and promote community-centered renewable energy.