On May 12, Colby-Sawyer President Susan D. Stuebner hosted a Celebration of Service at the President’s House to honor faculty and staff members who have reached milestones in their careers. The afternoon ceremony was full of thanks, refreshments and good company.

The Judith Pond Condict ’62 Award for Excellence in Service celebrates a staff member who has made a distinguished contribution to the college and its mission of educating students. This year it was awarded to Campus Safety Officer Thomas Bates.

President Stuebner offered remarks about Bates’ five years at Colby-Sawyer described how students view him: approachable, kind, hard-working, sweet and, overall, amazing. “One of Tom’s greatest joys is seizing and celebrating the blessings in life, small and large, and he has done so with an expansive heart, generous spirit and gentle strength that has reached every corner of campus,” said President Stuebner.

A former member of the Air Force and police officer, Bates has been able to make deep and lasting connections within the Colby-Sawyer community. “I couldn’t think of a better job in the entire world,” he said. Watch Bates receive The Judith Pond Condict ’62 Award for Excellence in Service here.

President Stuebner then recognized 43 more faculty and staff members for their dedication and contributions to the college.

Twelve employees celebrated five years at Colby-Sawyer: Daniel Bertune of Dining Services; Assistant Professor of Business Administration Leslie Campbell; Web Developer Greg Danilowski; Michael Depalo of Dining Services; Housekeeper Kel Dawon, Justin Hatch of Dining Services; Assistant Professor of Nursing and Health Professions Jennifer Holl ’06; Associate Professor of Social Sciences and Education Kraig Larkin; Mickey Michael, night housekeeping supervisor; Assistant Professor of Nursing and Health Professions Peter Nolette; Lisa Stasalovich of Dining Services and Accounts Specialist Lindsay White.

Celebrating 10 years at Colby-Sawyer were Leigh Bears, nurse practitioner at Baird Health and Counseling Center; Associate Professor of Humanities Ewa Chrusciel; Enrollment Marketing Manager Mike Clark; Heating and Maintenance Technician Tim Cook; Senior Athletic Trainer Lisa Dupuis; Heating and Maintenance Technician James King and Associate Professor of Business Administration Chris Kubik.

President Stuebner congratulated the following for 15 years of service: Director of Alumni Relations Tracey Austin; Cindy Benson, tutor in the Student Learning Collaborative; Controller Karen Bonewald; Housekeeper Guy Cote; Teresa Gallagher, manager of Galligan’s Pub; Associate Professor of Social Sciences and Education Lynn Garrioch; Assistant Professor of Nursing and Health Professions Joan Huber; Systems Analyst Charles Krajewski; Russell Medbery, professor of Exercise and Sport Sciences; Rachel Parsons, administrative coordinator of Nursing and Health Professions and the Teaching Enrichment Center; Paula Rowell, manager of Housekeeping; Assistant Professor of Nursing and Health Professions Renee Vebell; Professor of Natural Sciences Peter White and Ed Winters, assistant director of the Hogan Sports Center and Recreational Sports.

Five employees celebrated 20 years of service: Vice President for Student Development and Dean of Students Robin Davis; Professor and Chair of Social Sciences and Education Randy Hanson; Jill Metsch, operations manager in Financial Services; Mike Peirce, assistant manager of Housekeeping and Librarian Carrie Thomas.

For their 25 years at Colby-Sawyer, Associate Professor of Humanities Donna Berghorn, Professor of Exercise and Sport Sciences Kerstin Stoedefalke and Professor of Natural Sciences Bill Thomas were recognized.

Mike Heffernan, manager of Sodexo Dining Services, and Ann Page Stecker, professor of Humanities and coordinator of the Wesson Honors Program, celebrated 30 years at Colby-Sawyer. Heffernan was the 1996 Employee of the Year. Professor Stecker was the first David H. Winton Endowed Teaching Chair, established in 2002. She received the college’s Gown Award in 2001 and again in 2012 for her work with the New Hampshire Women’s Caucus Steering Committee.